Society of Southwest Archivists

David B. Gracy II Student Scholarship

David B. Gracy II was the Governor Bill Daniel Professor Emeritus in Archival Enterprise at the University of Texas, School of Information. Dr. Gracy worked in the Texas State Archives and the University of Texas Archives before becoming the Archivist for Georgia State University’s Southern Labor Archives, and then Director of the Texas State Archives. He was a former President of both the Society of American Archivists and the Academy of Certified Archivists. A founding member of the Society of Southwest Archivists, he was awarded the SSA Distinguished Service Award in 1978.

The Scholarship

In honor of archival educator and enthusiast, Dr. David B. Gracy II, this scholarship will provide $1000 in book fee and tuition assistance for up to five SSA student members enrolled in graduate archival education programs, including Public History, Applied History, Library Science or Information Studies, at institutions within the SSA Region.

To be eligible you must be an SSA member in good standing and enrolled in a graduate archival education, Public History, or Library and Information Sciences program within the society’s region. You must submit a completed application form and an essay explaining how the funds would aid your educational endeavors.

The application deadline is February 18, 2024 at 11:59pm CST. Send applications to the Chair of the Scholarships Committee, at


Past David B. Gracy II Student Scholarship Recipients

2023 Malcom X. Alonzo

2022 Caroline Moore

2021 Avery Armstrong
2021 Alex Babineaux
2021 John Densmore
2021 Hannah Dubbe
2021 Christopher Kennedy
2021 Amanda Kowalski
2021 Claire Ridley
2020 Natalia Kovalyova
2020 Amelia Morris
2019 Izzy Oneiric
2018 Ana Niño
2017 Irene Lule
2016 Alexander Bourgeois
2015 Abra Schnur
2014 Angela Swift
2013 Jennifer Beyl
2012 Brian Thomas

© Society of Southwest Archivists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software