Society of Southwest Archivists

The Society of American Archivists J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

  • 21 Jan 2014 9:15 AM
    Message # 1480012
    The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee of the
    Society of American Archivists seeks nominations for the 2014 award.

    Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or
    organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or
    support of archival activities or programs.  The individual's or
    institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity,
    legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival
    work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work.
    Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level
    or beyond. Up to three awards may be given each year.

    Recent Winners:
    2013:  Dr. Warren Stewart
    2012:  Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart
    2011:  ³Who Do You Think You Are?² (NBC)
    2010:  The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation
    2009:  Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)
    2008:  Data-Intensive Cyber Environments (DICE)

    Eligibility: Nominees must be from outside the archives profession.
    Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or
    volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible
    for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

    Mailed materials must be postmarked by February 28, 2014 and should be
    sent to:

    J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Committee
    Society of American Archivists
    17 North State Street, Suite 1425
    Chicago, IL 60602-4061

    Nominations may be submitted electronically; please see the nomination
    form for details.  For more information on SAA awards and the nominations
    process, please go to:

© Society of Southwest Archivists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software