Society of Southwest Archivists

John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship

John Michael Caldwell (1951-1998) became the first archivist for the Carl Albert Center Congressional Archives at Oklahoma University in 1979. He initiated an award-winning series of traveling exhibits on Oklahoma and the U.S. Congress. He also obtained an Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Archival Fellowship award for the Center through the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and administered a grant program for visiting scholars.

In 1992 Caldwell left OU to accept a faculty appointment in geography at his alma mater, Louisiana Tech University in Ruston. There, he received the F. Jay Taylor-Tech Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1998.

The Scholarship

The John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship provides annual meeting registration for SSA members enrolled in a graduate archival program to attend the annual meeting in April 2024.

To be eligible you must be an SSA member enrolled in a library, archives, or public history program within the society’s region. Applications must be submitted by February 18, 2024 at 11:59pm CST. Have questions? Need assistance or accessibility intervention? Don’t hesitate to email the SSA Scholarships Committee Chair at


Past John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship Recipients

2023 Joshlyn Thomas

2022 Perla Camacho-Cedillo

2021 Raven Creech
2021 Natalia Kovalyova
2021 Caroline Moore
2021 Alexandra Wilkins
2020 Eric Robertson-Gordon
2020 Kaitlyn Tuck
2019 Rodrigo Leal
2018 Irene Lule
2017  Chido Muchemwa
2016  Ofelia Zepeda
2015  Susan Floyd
2014  Laura J. Treat
2013  LaToya Devezin
2012  Sarah Sokolow
2011  Rachel Appel
2010  Michael Aday
2009  Michelle Bogart
2005  Philip Lee Montgomery
2004  Laura Hollingsed
2002  Jennifer Compton
2001  Daria Labinsky
2000  Michael Strom & Heidi Dodson

© Society of Southwest Archivists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software