Society of Southwest Archivists

Nominate an archivist, program, or institution for a THRAB award!

  • 05 May 2022 9:14 AM
    Message # 12768456

    Call for Nominations for Archival Awards of Excellence, Advocacy, and Distinguished Service

    The Texas Historical Records Advisory Board (THRAB) is now accepting nominations for the 2022 archival awards. THRAB seeks nominations for the Archival Award of Excellence, Advocacy for Archives Award and the David B. Gracy II Distinguished Archival Service Award. Texas organizations, individuals, programs, and institutions are all eligible for the honors. Send nomination packets to THRAB coordinator Jelain Chubb at the street address or THRAB email address below by July 1, 2022. THRAB announces award recipients as part of Texas Archives Month celebrations in October.

    Advocacy for Archives Award acknowledges an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to ensure the preservation and availability of the historical record of Texas.

    David B. Gracy II Distinguished Archival Service Award recognizes an individual, archival institution, education program, or nonprofit/government organization that has provided outstanding leadership, service, or contribution to the archives profession in Texas.

    Archival Award of Excellence recognizes significant achievements in preserving and improving access to historical records in any format by a Texas archival institution and individual achievements.

    For institutions: All Texas institutions responsible for archival records that provide public access to at least a portion of their collection are eligible. Achievements include recent projects and/or on-going programs that build collections, enhance access to archives, develop effective digitization programs, or implement preservation strategies.

    For individual: An archivist or individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the areas of management, preservation, access, advocacy, or use of historical records in Texas. Nominees must have accomplished the work within the state of Texas during the five years preceding the year in which the award is presented. Current THRAB members are not eligible.

    Nomination Process: Submit a complete nomination packet to THRAB coordinator Jelain Chubb. Nomination packets include the appropriate award nomination form, a statement of work accomplished, two letters of support and any supporting materials. For nomination forms and more information, visit

    Send nominations via email to or U.S. mail to: Jelain Chubb / ATTN: THRAB Awards / Texas State Library and Archives Commission / PO Box 12927 / Austin, TX 78701

    Submit Nominations by July 1, 2022

    The Texas Historical Records Advisory Board and its programs receive support from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

© Society of Southwest Archivists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software